Connect with us

Trezor Model T Guide & Review

Videos

Trezor Model T Guide & Review



Trezor Model T Review and Guide. Is it worth it to buy this hardware wallet and how does it compare to the Ledger Nano S
Read the Guide:
Review:

0:58 Unboxing the Trezor Model T
1:24 Setting up the Trezor (Backup Phrases)
6:28 Using the Model T (Trezor App)
6:53 Ethereum and MyEtherWallet (ERC-20 Tokens)
7:05 Model T review – Trezor vs Ledger vs Keepkey

👍🏻Subscribe to…

50 Comments

50 Comments

  1. Smith Js

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    I bought leadger and regret so hard to use

  2. Tyler MacDonald

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    Very helpful

  3. Andrew Freeman

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    i'm pretty sure i just saw your full recovery key… yo ,i'll be back in a minute

  4. Cole Everland

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    I am uncomfortable not having my actual private key. Do any devices provide us with the private key, or just the seed? What can I use for cold storage if I want my actual private key. I am going to store 10+ bitcoin, and I just don't trust not having the key.

  5. Jeffrey D

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    Im using Windows 10, Chrome. Bridge shows its running in background in task manager. I'm trying to setup Trezor T for the first time. I click on "new wallet", then it goes to "preparing your Trezor" then "your Trezor is ready", and it brings me to the "transactions" page, and my Trezor says "Needs Backup!"

    .

    I tried wiping and starting again a few times. Same situation. It is skipping the part where I need to get the 12 word passphrase right? What to do? Thanks

  6. TheTuberQ

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    5:01 "Make sure you are not being filmed". While he is filming himself hahah xD

  7. Online Earner

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    please don't buy anybody because of cannot setup backup word that is very hard almost impossible i bricked my hardware wallet by angry more then 10 time was tried but couldn't success even one time then broke my 200 dollars puckd up

  8. Kent Löfgren

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    Is the wallet inside the hardware, or do I have to visit yet another web site and download… ashc, I guess I just have to watch the video :-9

  9. Gerron Marquel

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    I just bought a Trezor One and I have one question: once the device is set-up and I receive my seed, does that mean I’m set? I haven’t added any money to it yet but basically my PRIVATE KEYS & BLOCKCHAIN are now on the Trezor?

  10. Samuelson baker

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    You should look at the Hyundai Pay Kasse hardware wallet its my fav at the mo .

  11. Steve Schreiber

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    I have a trezor model 1 and after seeing several reviews of the trezor model t I am glad I have the model 1. I don't like the touch screen on the model T and the price of the model T is quite a bit more than the model 1 with no added security. That said I have owned Ledger nano S and my trezor , and I like my trezor the best it is easy to use. And another added plus is that the trezor support team are excellent.

  12. Ahmed Nasef

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    Ledger got a lot of errors very complicated . Trezor is the best

  13. Mark Liberatore

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    yes great content and easy to listen too. cheers

  14. bluedrangon69

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    the only reason i buy it because it has a Type C

  15. Conscious Crypto

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    Really helpful. Ledger support had me thinking it was unheard of to have the device malfunctioning in so many ways in under a year. But your explanation makes perfect sense for what I experienced. The connection of the USB-A cable is probably what's wrong. They said I probably needed a new cable. They didn't say it was because of a sub par connector in the device itself.

  16. Kzee Hamza

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    Ledger nano s vs trezor which is more secure ??

  17. MC Peko

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    Interesting as usual. Good points about touch screens with instructions as such. Still love my good old Ledger though. 🙂 Thanks!

  18. John Wheaton

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    Good review! I have a Ledger as well, but I leave the cable attached to the device when I put it away. I only disconnect it if I am going to travel with my Nano S. So, I don't worry so much about the connection going bad.

  19. Ryan Lio

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    Thanks for the video. I'm currently using the nano ledger.. just wondering what happens when say for example the manufacturer close down? Will these devices still continue to work? I'm wondering if their app fail to work if internet is disconnected. (ie if ledger live requires a connection to ledger server to pull information like verifying authenticity)

  20. dactylntrochee

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    I USE a Nano S. The nutjob who decided that an incomplete address should scroll across a teeny-weeny screen without any ability to stop it should have his head examined. Also, Ledger recently changed from their Chrome app to a standalone app called Leger Live. Alas, Leger Live has a bug that, last time I looked, hadn't been fixed, that made it impossible to move BTC or LTC. Their workaround: "use it for ETH, but uninstall BTC and LTC and go back to the Chrome app." How elegant, especially in light of the fact that the app will be discontinued. BTW, I did check a month after the bug first affected me, and they still hadn't fixed it. Unless it has been fixed as of today, it's a real sloppy job. Kindergarten-level irresponsibilty.

    I also have a Trezor (One), which I don't use, but I did their recent update. (I had bought it because I was curious.) The first thing that got updated was the Trezor Bridge, which went smoothly, but the actual software update was as confusing as can be. Since things weren't clear, I figured "go for it and get the experience", so I reset the whole thing using my seed. The Model T may not create the problem I encountered, but it has moving parts that can break, so that will be a thing. In any case, I found their scheme for selecting characters to arrive at the seed words to be HIGHLY non-intuitive, but I'm not terribly stupid, so after a while I got the hang of it. Alas, my eyesight isn't so great, and the eentsy-beentsy super low-res screen did nothing to help. It was a 1/2 hour+ nightmare of holding, just at the right angle, just at the right distance, with glasses, without glasses, with lots of guesswork and going back a step. If I ever decide to use it as my real wallet, I'll be sure to get a magnifying glass before attempting anything.

    The idea that the world is going to move to crypto will remain laughable as long as devices such as these have to be used. The folks who write instructions must be pretty high on the autism spectrum. The contact at Ledger's help desk, despite having non-native English, answered promptly and was reasonably capable, given that they have a patient and technically inclined customer in me. (Alas, somebody should inform them that French is no longer the world's lingua franca.) Of course, as I said, the final upshot was "go back to the old system until we fix it", and a month later that still hadn't been done.

    These are NOT things you want your grandmother — or your mother, or your siblings, or your kids, or even your enemies, to use to buy groceries. In fact, they're for nobody but university-level technoids and enthusiasts. Hey, I love hobbies, but not everybody does. However, they're the only safe storage at this point, and since there's still no commerce happening (all I do is buy and hodl), it doesn't matter much for me now. I suppose that when restaurants are accepting crypto, I'll use a hackable but usable wallet on my phone. The world has pickpockets, too, so we don't put too much money in a leather wallet. Ditto for whatever app I use. At this time, moving from my HW wallet (which I think of as a safe) to an app on my phone (which I think of as a wallet) will remain an exercise from hell.

    Good luck to all.

    Oh, by the way. Make sure you find the function to choose how much you're willing to pay for the transaction. They default to fast/expensive. You have to know beforehand that it's something you have to look for. There's no sense in paying a high transfer fee if all you want to do is put a hundred bucks in your phone app overnight. I'll be a little less crabby when the Lightning Network is up and running.

  21. Jake Dojo

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    Metm 200m total supply and just 210sats, big move up coming!!

  22. In Fashion Rehab

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    $metm metamorph pro atomic swap decentralized exchange will be launched october 15th. And u can connect to the platform via metamask and myetherwallet. Also very soon trezor wallet will be intergrated.

  23. Charles Oladipo

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    Buy $METM @ mercatox, Latoken, idex

    1.Target 0.00000350
    2.Target 0.00000600
    3.Target 0.00001200 sats
    Btc price
    Stop Loss 0.00000150

    Atomic swap dex launch October 15th
    $BTC $ETH $TRX $OCN $XRP @MetaMorphPro

    metamorph.pro/coming-soon/

  24. CryptoJINX Xx

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    Great wallet review man! Great videos as always and very informative. I do have a question that I’ve been thinking about and trying to research myself but maybe you have a answer. Having these wallets are awesome but what if I store all my coins on say Ledger Nano S and then one Day ledger nano S as a company goes out of business and stops supporting their products. How can do I recovery my coins that were stored on my ledger nano S? In a similar example if MEW ever gets shut down and the website is no longer available, how do u get access to my coins that were stored on MEW? Thanks!

  25. МеГа-БаБкИ

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    все как всегда крутой видос прям как у меня на канале лайк

  26. Han Sagan

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    ..great tweet on Xiaolai today Michael.. anyone not following @boxmining on Twitter is missing out..

  27. Jake Addy

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    why did you show on screen all 12 of your recovery seed words? I hope that you have re-set everything with a new recovery seed phrase for the Trezor Model T and are not using the 12 that you showed in the video! You probably have, but just saying! lol

  28. Zaine

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    I bought Trezor T , Ledger Nano S , Keepkey i love ledger's new interface, i am waiting for trezor t to support more coins as advertised…. I really love Trezor T cause i could display picture on background. Ledger is nice but i hate pressing so many times on the buttons to enter pin haha…

  29. Cenot4ph

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    ledger nano s, good software and hardware. But I don't use it to trade regularly, i'm holding.

  30. joshman

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    Unless this has changed recently, my biggest problem with the Trezor is that it does not store the seed keys in an isolated area of memory. This means that upgrades require you to wipe the trezor and reseed it. I travel a lot, and am unable to access any hard forked cryptos (BCH, ZEC, etc.) because I do not carry my seed everywhere I go in order to upgrade my Trezor. In contrast, the Ledger does store the seed in an isolated area of memory so I can upgrade it at any time as of v1.3.

  31. Jimmy Jimmy

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    tks you.

  32. Warren Buffoon

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    He pronounces "Keepkey" like it's some kind of Chinese snack.

  33. James Odom

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    Hey cool I just got mine last week.

  34. N8DZN

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    I have my key on my phone (password protected and hidden)

  35. KB GFX

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    Idex Exchange = Tomochain!🚀

  36. KB GFX

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    *Tip: always say USD value after saying EURO value, thx

  37. Syntha 84

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    Ledger is the shit just needs more memory. Better than all others

  38. Ken Farley

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    I've been using a nano for two yrs and I like it but Leger support is not good in my experience.

  39. martin drew

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    Excellent explanation, just like the one you did that I followed when first buying my Nano S. One small thing you could edit into the vid Michael, is to advise ppl to cover their laptop camera whilst writing down the seed. If someone hacks into your laptop, they can use your camera to see what you are doing. Sounds paranoid, but I'm sure you know, it does happen !

  40. Frederick Dorsey

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    Does the Model T only use 12 word passphrase? I thought a 24 word passphrase would be safer.

  41. Philip Richardson

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    I have the ledger nano S and the Ledger Blue . Surprised you didn't do a review on the ledger blue

  42. Martin S. - PACh

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    I actually costs 180EUR

  43. Aaron T

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    Quite a poor review. While naturally there are too many things to be considered that just can’t be covered in a 7 min review? If you are just starting out you want a device that works reliably and is free from the many bugs Ledger Nano S / Ledger Live comes with.

  44. REKKT

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    Trezor has also a Password Manager. Can you make a video about it?

  45. Dermot McConnell

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    Can u put neo or nep 5 tokens on trezor

  46. Lama Light

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    We can only win with XRP 🏆

  47. Krzysztof Cygan

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    Can you review McAfee Bitfi wallet too?

  48. Dany Fortier

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    Ledger blue is the best

  49. Alexandre Tabbakh

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    Thanks for the reviews! It gives a good glimpse of the state of the HW market.
    What do you think about http://www.unikeys.io ? We have already built an Ethereum android NFC wallet and a payment channels framework powered by the UKey card. I can share videos with you if interested! Cheers

  50. Crypto Maniac

    July 20, 2019 at 5:01 pm

    Ledger for me Although like the idea of a Trezor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Videos

To Top